bits and pieces of Hong Kong

Hello Everyone!

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about you guys!  I’m updating my first post about Hong Kong with lots of eye candy.  Life here is, simply stated, DIFFERENT.

First off, I left sunny So Cal and was unfortunately greeted with rain, gloom, and humidity.  But don’t let the weather fool you, it is quite hot… around 80 degrees.

Most people take advantage of the wonderful public transportation system in Hong Kong. You will never see the freeways this empty during rush hour in Los Angeles.

The subway system is amazing! It is easy, affordable, and efficient. Everyone from young kids to senior citizens, professionals to students, take advantage of the subway.  I wish Los Angeles had a better metro system =( But keep in mind, with less people driving their own cars, there is more walking.  Much more than in Los Angeles where people drive door to door and park as close as they can to wherever the destination is!

The most prominent thing about Hong Kong is that it is very dense.  It is actually the 4th most densely populated country in the world, behind Macau, Monaco, and Singapore.  United States, ranked 174th, is not so much.

However with these differences, there are some things that remain the same.  One is that people love to shop on the weekends.


Another, is having a warm cup of Starbucks coffee to start the day =)

These were just a few observations I had since arriving in Hong Kong yesterday.  Tomorrow I am off to China!  I am very excited but at the same time, very tired.  I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.  Please stay tuned as I will update you with my travels as frequently as I can.

love,

auntie k

Comments

  1. love your picturessss

  2. Great pictures, I remember Hong Kong very well, I was there just a few years ago, I had such a great time. Can’t wait to read your next post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

